Community Council

Community Councils are the most local tier of statutory representation in Scotland.

They were created by the local government (Scotland) act 1973 and are intended to bridge the gap between local authorities and local communities, and to help to make local authorities and other public bodies aware of the opinions, needs and preferences of the communities that they represent.

There are at present about 1200 community councils in Scotland. Community Councils are democratically elected every three or four years. The role of the Community Council is at present under review, but they are able to influence decision and policies of local authorities and other public bodies, such as police forces and N.H.S. boards.

The Carluke Community Council members are:-

R. Ashe (Chairman)
S. Kehoe (Vice Chairman)
M. Murray (Secretary)
S. Garfagnini (Treasurer)
A. Gosling (Minute Secretary)

A. Ashe
J. Cairns
W. Clark
R. Mitchell
C. Nisbet
R. Nisbet
G. Reid
A. Scott


Contact details for the Secretary
Margaret Murray
6 Burn Road,
ML8 5BZ.

Email  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .


The meetings take place in the St. Athanasius Hall, Carluke, every 2nd Thursday of the month (with the excepetions of January, July, August, December) at 7.30pm. All welcome.


Click the links to view minutes of meetings.

13th September 2018
14th June 2018
10th May 2018
12th April 2018
8th February 2018
AGM November 2017
10th November 2017
12th October 2017
14th September 2017
15th June 2017
11th May 2017
13th April 2017
9th February 2017
10th November 2016
13th October 2016
8th September 2016
16th June 2016
12th May 2016
11th February 2016
Chairperson's Annual Report 2015 
5th November 2015
8th October 2015
10th September 2015
18th June 2015
14th of May 2015
9th of April 2015